- - Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay 2014 Stage 3

Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay 2014 Stage 3

Juan Jose Haedo (Jamis Hagens Berman) claimed stage 3 in this year’s  Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay’s yesterday, in a sprint finish in Chicoutimi, QC. 

Meanwhile, Eric Young (Optum)retained his grip on the overall race lead. 

Yesterday’s stage saw ninety-eight riders tackled the 35 lap, 2.21 kilometer circuit, wherein the pace of the first lap served to string out the entire peloton. As a result, there were breakaways and subsequent chases galore – with Brecht Dhaene (Belgium/Astellas Cycling) taking the first intermediate sprint.

The day’s longest move off the front came from Canadian Ryan Roth (Silber Pro) and new American road champion Eric Marcotte of SmartStop. The duo surged ahead of a large breakaway after Roth took an intermediate sprint and stayed away to contest another in which Roth was third. Marcotte placed second in both.

But the race came back together with three laps to go and when the bunch contested the sprint Haedo nosed out SmartStop’s Shane Kliine (USA) and Pierrick Naud (Canada/Garneau-Québecor) for the victory. Naud now has two third placings and a second in the three stages of the race so far.

Young leads Naud by 5 seconds in the GC and SmartStop’s Jure Kocjan by 10 seconds.

Sunday’s finale in Chicoutimi features 14 laps of a 10.7 km circuit.


Results Stage 3

1. Juan José Haedo (Arg) Jamis Hagens Berman 1:36:45
2. Shane Kliine (USA) SmartStop
3. Pierrick Naud (Can) Garneau-Québecor
4. Asbjorn Kragh Andersen (Den) Christina Watches
5. Jesse Kerrison (Aus) Budget Forklifts Cycling
6. Elliot Doyle (Can) Silber Pro Cycling Team
7. Jure Kocjan (Slo) SmartStop
8. Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Amore & Vita – Selle SMP
9. Maksym Vasilyev (Ukr) ISD Continental
10. Daniel Durango (Col) 4-72 Colombia
11. Yean Stefan Rodriguez Sepulveda (Col) 4-72 Colombia
12. Edson Calderon (Col) 4-72 Colombia
13. David Drouin (Can) Team NCCH p/b DEC express
14. Enrico Rossi (Ita) Christina Watches
15. Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Novo Nordisk

GC after Stage 3

1. Eric Young (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    9:27:24
2. Pierrick Naud (Can) Garneau-Québecor    0:05   
3. Jure Kocjan (Slo) SmartStop    0:10
4. Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Novo Nordisk    0:11
5. Luis Romero Amaran (Cub) Jamis Hagens Berman 0:13
6. Eric Marcotte (USA) SmartStop    0:16
7. Ryan Roth (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
8. Ian Crane (USA) Jamis Hagens Berman
9. Brecht Dhaene (Bel) Astellas Cycling 0:17
10. James Stemper (USA) 5 hour Energy p/b Kenda

Leave a reply
Share on