- - Memorial Marco Pantani 2014

Memorial Marco Pantani 2014

Sonny Cobrelli won this year’s Memorial Marco Pantani road race held in Cesenatico today, after emerging out of 50-man lead group to beat Grega Bole (Vini Fantini Nippo) and Fabio Chinello (Area Zero Pro Team) in a sprint finish.

“After the second place in Tre Valli Varesine, today I was really focused to win,” said Colbrelli. “ Selvaggi (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) moved I took his wheel. With 200 to go, I went out and got the win.”

Colbrelli and his teammate Bongiorno were apart of a 20-rider group that split during the opening circuits of today’s 189.8 kilometer race. However, the breakaway group never strayed beyond the one minute mark over the main field. 

With 15 kilometers remaining, a second group of riders made contact with the breakaway group, subsequently increasing the lead group to 50 strong. From there, the pack remained together to form a sprint finale, wherein Bongriorno did an excellent job of leading out his teammate Colbrelli for the win. 

“We wanted the win and we got it,” said Bardiani-CSF director Mirko Rossato. “This morning I saw the right concentration and all the guys gave a good performance. In the last part of the race, despite only Sonny and Manuel being in front, they raced perfectly.

“Colbrelli is still young but he’s already a guarantee for these types of hilly races. When he’s supported like today, he’s really hard to beat.”

Colbrelli and Zardini will compete together on the Italian national team at the World Championships road race next weekend. 

In this moment, my shape is really good,” Calbrelli said. “This victory was so

important for my morale and for the journey to Ponferrada.”

Top 25 Finishers 

1 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF 4:34:49 2 Grega Bole (Slo) Vini Fantini Nippo  3 Fabio Chinello (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team  4 Rafael Andriato De Mattas (Bra) Neri Sottoli  5 Davide Vigano (Ita) Caja Rural – Seguros Rga  6 Simone Ponzi (Ita) Neri Sottoli  7 Federico Zurlo (Ita) Nazionale Italiana  8 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 9 Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela  10 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela 11 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Colombia 12 Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale  13 Karel Hnik (Cze) MTN – Qhubeka  14 Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Team Idea  15 Michel Kreder (Ned) Wanty – Groupe Gobert 16 Simone Antonini (Ita) Marchiol Emisfero  17 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka  18 Marco Marcato (Ita) Cannondale  19 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Neri Sottoli  20 Fabricio Ferrari Barcel (Uru) Caja Rural – Seguros Rga  21 Artyem Nych (Rus) Russian National Team  22 Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) Team Netapp – Endura  23 Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Esp) Caja Rural – Seguros Rga  24 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Team Netapp – Endura 25 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia

Leave a reply
Share on