- - Scheldecross Antwerpen 2014

Scheldecross Antwerpen 2014

Mathieu Van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) won this year’s Scheldecross in Antwerp today, after beating Laurens Sweeck and Tom Meeusen by a comfortable lead. 

Today’s race got underway with an early attack from Sweeck (Corendon-Kwadro), which was quickly followed by Van der Poel.

With 7 laps remaining, the duo continued to remain out from. However, at one point, Van der Poel "punched" it one more time – subsequently riding Sweeck off of his wheel.

From there, Sweeck managed to hang unto second place, while a battle for third ensued between the chase group containing Rob Peeters (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace), Corné Van Kessel, Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) and David Van der Poel (BKCP). 

Going into the final lap, Van der Poel was still holding a 27 second lead  over Sweeck, with Peeters, Meeusen and Philipp Walsleben (BKCP) a further 1:04 back.

At that point, there was no catching Van der Poel, who breezed across the line punching both fists in the air. 

Meanwhile, Sweeck followed in second place at 40 seconds down, with  Meeusen finishing in third 13 seconds later.

Top 20 Finishers

1 Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team     2 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team     3 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     4 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team     5 Philipp Walsleben (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team     6 Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     7 David Van der Poel (Ned) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team     8 Diether Sweeck (Bel) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team     9 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     10 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan – AA Drink Team     11 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team     12 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team     13 Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team     14 Radomir Simunek (Cze) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team     15 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team     16 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team     17 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team     18 Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.     19 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team     20 Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZM

In the women’s race, Sanne Cant continued her dominance in Antwerp, to secure her fifteenth victory of  the season.

The European and Belgian champion finished ahead of compatriots Ellen Van Loy (Young Telenet-Fidea) and Loes Sels (Young Telenet-Fidea), after a fast day of racing along the banks of the Shelde river.

“It might seem easy but that’s not the case. I have to ride hard too and it’s tough for everyone. Today’s technical course favoured my abilities. I managed to ride away without going over the limit,” Cant told after her victory.

Van Loy briefly led today’s race, however, after getting stuck on one of the 180-degree corners, Cant proceeded to take over from there. 

By the end of the first lap, Cant was leading the race ahead of Van Loy and Sels. And, from there, she continued to gradually increase her lead, as both Van Loy and Sels struggle to stay onboard – especially through some of the sandy sections. 

At one point, Cant became entangle with a couple of lapped riders, but once clear, she was able to regain her pace and cruise to victory. 

Meanwhile, Van Loy crossed the line half a minute later, followed by  Sels in third at 1:39, while Dutch rider Maud Kaptheijns (AA Drink-BRIS) was fourth at 2:19, ahead of Jolien Verschueren (Decock Woningbouw-Vandekerckhove).

Top 20 Finishers

1 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm – BKCP     2 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     3 Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     4 Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team     5 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove     6 Elle Anderson (USA) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team     7 Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam     8 Shana Maes (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team     9 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove     10 Esmee Oosterman (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team     11 Hannah Payton (GBr)     12 Christine Vardaros (USA)     13 Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)     14 Gertie Willems (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam     15 Eva Maria Palm (Bel)     16 Lena Bischoff-Stein (Ger)     17 Anja Geldhof (Bel)     18 Yvonne Fiedler (Ger)     19 Karlijn Swinkels (Ned)     20 Valerie Boonen (Bel) De Kastelse Durvers V.Z.W.

Leave a reply
Share on