- - Superprestige Cyclocross Asper Gavare

Superprestige Cyclocross Asper Gavare

Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb – Napoleon Games) dominated the 4th round of this year’s Superprestige race in Asper-Gavere, Belgium today, after riding clear of his teammate Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb – Napoleon Games) Tom Meeusen (Telenet Fidea), during the final lap. 

"This is a fantastic win. I’m not winning a lot of races and I was still missing out on a big classic win. This one comes just behind the Belgian championships I won last year," Vantornout said.

Meanwhile, Sven Nys held onto to his overall lead in the series, as he faces the famous F1 car circuit of Spa-Francorchamps, one day after the World Cup round in Koksijde.


"That’s probably going to be even harder than this course," Nys said. Van der Poel trails Nys by two points. Van der Haar and Vantornout share third place at three points from Nys.

(full race video)

Top 20 Finishers

1 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games  2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 3 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink  4 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea  5 Lars van der Haar (Ned) Giant-Shimano     6 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) BKCP Powerplus     7 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP Powerplus     8 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea  9 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink  10 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon-KwadrO   11 David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP Powerplus     12 Corné van Kessel (Ned) Telenet-Fidea  13 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace  14 Tim Merlier (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games     15 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games  16 Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team  17 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  18 Patrick Gaudy (Bel) Veranclassic-Doltcini Cycling Team     19 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team   20 Eddy Van IJzendoorn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) won the elite women’s edition of the Gavere Superprestige today, after a race-long duel with Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea).

The 24 year-old Belgian champion demonstrated her technical skills during a muddy final lap, to beat Harris, who rolled across the finish line 9 seconds behind Cant.

Meanwhile, Ellen van Loy claimed the final spot on the podium, after finishing behind the two leaders more than a minute later. 

“This wasn’t my best day of the season. The course demanded a lot of running. It’s okay to have a course like this once in a while. It’s good I came out the winner,” Cant said.

Top 20 Finishers  

1 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm – BKCP 0:41:10   2 Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:09   3 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:05   4 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove 0:01:44 5 Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team 0:02:42   6 Christine Majerus (Ger) 0:02:50   7 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:03:32   8 Elle Anderson (USA) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team  9 Githa Michiels (Bel) 0:04:02   10 Olatz Odriozola Mugika (Spa) 0:05:02   11 Stephanie De Croock (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen 0:05:15   12 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) 0:05:17   13 Esmee Oosterman (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team 0:06:39   14 Christine Vardaros (USA)     15 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove 0:07:00   16 Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:07:15   17 Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling 0:07:32   18 Hannah Payton (GBr) 0:07:46   19 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) 0:09:12   20 Lierni Lekuona Etxebeste (Spa) 0:10:35

Leave a reply
Share on