- - Tre Valli Varesine 2014

Tre Valli Varesine 2014

Michael Albasini won this year’s Tre Valli Varesine, with a late acceleration that proved to be enough to pass Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF) in the closing meters of today’s race.  

While Colbrelli was busy reeling in late attacker Mauro Finetto (Neri Sottoli), Albasini was able to power his way past the Italian rider during the final 25 meters – to seize the victory. 

Meanwhile, Filippo Pozzato (Lampre-Merida) took third place, after emerging as the strongest rider out of an eight-man group that came together in the waning minutes of today’s race.

Today’s finale was highlighted by a series of crashes, that involved such riders as Enrico Gasparotto and Vincenzo Nibali, who both crashed as the result of a rain-soak road crossing -not far from the finish. 

"It was very dangerous on the finishing circuit. Gasparotto crashed and so we were all afraid of going down," Albasini said. "There were a lot of attacks in the finale and I saw Pozzato on my wheel, so I was worried. But we caught the attacks at the finish and I managed to pass Colbrelli. I’m on form and rarely make mistakes in races, so it went my way."

Top 20 Finishers

1 Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica GreenEdge 5:14:39   2 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF  3 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida     4 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowice  5 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale     6 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Neri Sottoli  7 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre-Merida 0:00:04   8 Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:00:07   9 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:22   10 Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:01:23   11 Gregor Muhlberger (Aut) Team Netapp – Endura 0:01:25   12 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 13 Michel Kreder (Ned) Wanty – Groupe Gobert     14 Gian Marco Di Francesco (Ita) Vega – Hotsand  15 Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida     16 Marco Minnaard (Ned) Wanty – Groupe Gobert     17 Karel Hnik (Cze) MTN – Qhubeka  18 Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise 19 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Team Netapp – Endura  20 Simone Petilli (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team

Leave a reply
Share on