- - Wild Card Teams Announced for Tour of Flanders

Wild Card Teams Announced for Tour of Flanders

Organizers for the Tour of Flanders, announced the wild card teams who have been invited to this year’s classic, which takes place on April 5.

MTN-Qhubeka, Europcar, Androni-Gipcattoli, Bora-Argon18, Cofidis, Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise and Wanty-Groupe Gobert, are the eight Continetal teams who were chosen to participate in this year’s 264.2 kilometer race across the Belgian landscape, which will include a final finishing circuit  where riders will face the infamous climbs of the Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg. 

Defending champion, Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing), is expected to return in search of another win, having recently said that he would like to win another "monument" before retiring. 

Three-time winner, Tom Boonen, (Etixx – Quick-Step) is also expected to race, as he strives to regain his form in the "cobbled classics", while the likes of Peter Sagan (Tinkoff-Saxo), Greg van Avermaet (BMC) and Sep Vanmarcke (LottoNL.Jumbo), who have all come up short in recent years, will also be looking for a win. 

Here are following teams set to participate in the 2015 Tour of Flanders:

Ag2r La Mondiale, Astana Pro Team, BMC Racing Team, Etixx-Quick – Step, FDJ, IAM Cycling, Lampre-Merida, Lotto-Soudal, Movistar Team, Orica-GreenEdge, Team Cannondale-Garmin, Team Giant-Alpecin, Team Katusha, Team Lotto NL-Jumbo, Team Sky, Tinkoff-Saxo, Trek Factory Racing, Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise, Wanty – Groupe Gobert, Cofidis Solutions Crédit, Team Europcar, Bora-Argon 18, Androni Giocattoli, Team Roompot and MTN – Qhubeka.

Leave a reply
Share on