- - Zilvermeercross 2014

Zilvermeercross 2014

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) emerged as the victor in today’s Zilvermeercross, after a hard fought battle with Laurens Sweeck (Corendon-Kwadro). 

Today’s race saw Van Aert and Mathieu Van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) make a fast start in Mol. 

However, despite a late attack by Sweeck, Van Aerts proved that he had the "legs" in the final two laps, to not only track down his Belgian rival, but drop him as well – and proceed to claim a solo victory. 

Meanwhile, Sweeck managed to hang on to second place, while Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) used his bike skills to "sail" over a concrete barrier, when others riders were left to run – to secure a the final spot on the podium. 

Top 10 Finishers

1 Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team)    

2 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team    

3 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team    

4 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team    

5 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team    

6 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon – KwadrO Cycling Team    

7 Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team     

8 Philipp Walsleben (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team    

9 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team    

10 Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus

In the women’s race, Sabrina Stultiens finally brought an end to Sanne Cant’s wining streak, after beating both the Belgian champion, who only managed to muster a third place finish today, and her compatriot, Ellen Van Loy (Telenet-Fidea), who claimed second place on the podium.  

Podium Positions

1 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabo-Liv Women Cycling Team    

2 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team    

3 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm – BKCP

Leave a reply
Share on