- - BinckBank Tour 2018 Stage 2

BinckBank Tour 2018 Stage 2

Stefan Küng has won the BinckBank Tour time-trial for the second year in a row. The Swiss BMC rider beat European champion Victor Campenaerts by 14 seconds on the 12.7 kilometer course in Venray.

Luke Durbridge was the first to dip below the 15-minute mark with a 14:31.09 early on in the afternoon. The Australian’s time was bested by first Alex Dowsett (14:30.41) and then Michael Matthews (14:26.97).

A surprisingly strong Søren Kragh Andersen beat team-mate Matthews’ time by just 0.59.

European time-trial champion Victor Campenaerts was aiming high for his favourite discipline and promised fireworks. The Lotto-Soudal baroudeur delivered and took a second out of the Danish rider’s benchmark.  

Meanwhile, Dutch time-trialists Niki Terpstra and Jos Van Emden couldn’t match the Belgian, but Campenaerts’ time still wasn’t quick enough for the win.

After last year’s time-trial win in Voorburg, Stefan Küng again proved unbeatable. With an impressive average speed of 53.7 km/h the Swiss BMC rider beat the best time by a whopping 14 seconds.

Küng does the double, also taking over the green leader’s jersey.

Leave a reply
Share on