- - Bpost Bank Trofee Essen 2015 Elite Women

Bpost Bank Trofee Essen 2015 Elite Women

photo credits @ Meow/Twitter 

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) continued her relentless reign, after winning the elite women’s Bpost Bank Trofee race in Essen, Belgium today.

From the outset of today’s race, the Belgian champion dominated the field, quickly taking to the front during the first lap, and remaining there for the duration.

Indeed, Cant went on to cross the finish in a time of 46:12, which was nearly half a minute over her closest rival, Thalita de Jong (Rabobank Liv), while Bpost Bank Trofee series leader, Jolien Verschueren claimed third spot on the podium – a further six seconds back.

Race Highlights

Cant succeeded in riding clear of the field during the first lap. And from there, the 25-year old rider went on to establish a lead within the first few laps that proved to be insurmountable for the chase.

Meanwhile, Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing) and Pavla Havlikova (MRM-Avalon) pursued in earnest, but the duo quickly faded back into the main field.

Next came de Jong, who managed to force her way up through the ranks, eventually making her way clear of Wyman and Havlikova et al.

A that point, the race became a battle for third, with Verschoeren and Sophie De Boer (Kalas-NNOF) vying back and forth.  

In the meantime, Cant continued to remain way out front, ultimately clinching the victory in her usual solo fashion.

Today’s victory in Essen not only netted Cant the victory, but served to move her further along in the overall series, jumping ahead of Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea) into second place and cutting her deficit to Verschueren from 1:17 to just 20 seconds.


Leave a reply
Share on