- - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Stage 8

Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Stage 8

photo credits @ ASO

Dylan van Baarle (Team Ineos) won the 8th and final stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné today, after the Dutch rider beat fellow breakaway companion Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) in a two-man battle along the summit finish in Champery.

Van Baarle and Haig were originally part of a 13-rider breakaway group before the duo distanced the rest of the escapees during the final climb.

Meanwhile, Jakob Fuglsang secured overall victory, after his Astana team controlled his GC rivals, dissuading any attacks along the way Champery.

Race Highlights

Van Baarle, Haig, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step), Felix Grossschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe), Carlos Verona (Movistar), Sébastien Reichenbach (Groupama-FDJ), Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma), Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo), Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto-Soudal), Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida), Alessandro De Marchi (CCC) and Warren Barguil (Arkea-Samsic) were all part of the day’s first breakaway group.

Alaphilippe secured the white and blue polka dot jersey after winning the first two climbs of the day, while Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin) later bridged his way across to the group, increasing the number of escapees to 13 at Les Gets.

Alaphilippe continued scoring KOM points along the Col du Corbier, while the group proceeded to stretch-out its advantage over the peloton to more than 4 minutes.

Back in the main field, Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) pulled out of the race due to sickness with 50 kilometers to go.

Backup front, there were a few attacks from members of the breakaway group, with Haig briefly going solo along the climb of the Côte des Rives before Van Baarle latched on.

While a lull came over the peloton, mainly because Astana was keeping things in check in defense of their leader Fuglsang, Haig and Van Baarle continued to forge ahead along the final climb, with the Team Ineos rider ultimately emerging victorious over his Australian rival. 


Leave a reply
Share on