- - Critérium du Dauphiné 2022 Stage 4

Critérium du Dauphiné 2022 Stage 4

photo credits @ ASO

Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) stormed to victory in today’s individual time trial at the Critérium du Dauphiné, covering the 31.9 kilometer course from Montbrison to La Bâtie d’Urfé with the fastest time of 35:32, beating his closest rival Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) by 2.3 seconds.

Van Aert initially posted a time that was 10-seconds faster than Ganna at the 12 kilometer point, but he Belgian rider faded, dipping down as much as 10-seconds slower than his Italian rival with 11 kilometers to go, before rebounding to finish with a time of 35:34.

Meanwhile, Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) clocked the third fastest time of 35:49, earning the British time trial champion the final spot on the podium, with Matteo Cattaneo (QuickStep-AlphaVinyl) finishing fourth at 39 seconds down.

Van Aert now leads Cattaneo in the overall classification by 53-seconds, while his teammate and fellow team leader Primož Roglič sits in third at 56 seconds.

Leave a reply
Share on