- - Flandriencross Hamme 2015 Elite Men

Flandriencross Hamme 2015 Elite Men

photo credits @

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) retuned to his winning ways, after seizing victory in today’s Bpost Trofee – Flandriencross in Hamme, Belgium – in his usual dominant style. 

Van Aert succeeded in riding clear of the field during the first lap, and proceeded to remain out front for the duration of today’s race.

Meanwhile, last week’s series winner, Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink), made his way across the finish some 18 seconds later to claim second place, while Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games) crossed the line considerably later at 48 seconds behind – to round out the podium. 

Race Highlights

While van Aert continued to remain out front in a solo effect, back in the chase, the race became a battle for second, while Nys, Pauwels, Lars van der Haar (Giant-Alpecin) and world champion Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) all took turns at the front. 

Indeed, the status of the race remained unchanged for several laps. And, as van Aert entered into the final two laps, he was firmly holding onto his lead

However, a slight mishap going into the staircase run, saw van Aert almost slide-out, consequently costing the young Belgian rider a few seconds.

Meanwhile, Nys capitalized on the incident, subsequently gaining a few seconds on the leader.

But, van Aert once again managed to put distance between he and his rivals heading into the final lap, which ultimately led to victory in the third round of this year’s Bpost Trofee series.

In the meantime, Nys rode valiantly from behind, to secure second spot on the podium, while Pauwels lead the rest of the field home, to claim a distant third. 

Top 10 Results:
1. Wout van Aert 58.26
2. Sven Nys +0.18
3. Kevin Pauwels +1.04
4. Lars van der Haar +1.25
5. Mathieu van der Poel +2.01
6. Laurens Sweeck +2.05
7. Julien Taramarcaz +2.33
8. Tom Meeusen +2.35
9. Michael Vanthourenhout +2.42
10. Corne van Kessel +2.59

Overall standings in the Bpost Trofee Series:
1. Wout van Aert 2.56.47
2. Kevin Pauwels +2.19
3. Lars van der Haar +2.45
4. Tom Meeusen +6.26
5. Sven Nys +6.39
6. Julien Taramarcaz +6.57
7. Michael Vanthourenhout +7.04
8. Tim Merlier +7.28
9. Laurens Sweeck +7.39
10. Gianni Vermeersch +7.48


Leave a reply
Share on