- - Flandriencross Hamme 2015 Elite Women

Flandriencross Hamme 2015 Elite Women

photo credit Bpost Troffee/Twitter 

Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team) finally brought the curtains down on Sanne Cant’s (Enertherm-BKCP) winning streak, after beating the unstoppable Belgian rider in today’s third round of the Bpost Bank Trofee – Flandriencross, in Hamme, Belgium. 

Today’s race got off to a fast start, with the American duo of Ellen Noble (JAM Fund/NCC/Vittoria) and Emma White ( quickly making their way to front.

However, it wasn’t long before the young U23 rider’s were reclaimed by the field, with Wyman subsequently striking out on her own in a solo effort.

From there, Wyman quickly distanced her rivals, while Cant continued to chase in earnest. 

With two laps remaining, Cant managed to bring himself within a few meters of Wyman. However, a mechanical problem soon plagued the Belgian champion during one of the last straightaway’s, which resulted in substantial lost ground for her.  

Wyman capitalized on Cant’s misfortune, and proceeded to ride her way even further clear during the final lap – to seize the victory.

Meanwhile, fellow British rider, Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea), later rolled across the finish in third – to round out the podium. 

Bpost Bank Trofee Flandriencross Top 10 Elite Women’s Results

1. Helen Wyman
2. Sanne Cant
3. Nikki Harris
4. Pavla Havlokova
5. Ellen van Loy
6. Sophie de Boer
7. Jolien Verschueren
8. Loes Sels
9. Maud Kaptheijns
10. Joyce Vanderbeken

Leave a reply
Share on