- - Giro d'Italia 2015 Stage 21

Giro d’Italia 2015 Stage 21

photo credits @ Twitter

Alberto Contador Seals Overall Giro Victory  

Iljo Keisse (Etixx-QuickStep) proved to be the shrewdest of tacticians today, as the Belgian rider succeeded in out maneuvering Orica-GreenEdge’s Luke Durbridge in a two-man sprint in Milan, to claim the 21st and final stage of this year’s Giro d’Italia.

Meanwhile, Alberto Contador finished safely amongst the pelota with his Tinkoff-Saxo team by his side, to secure the overall race title ahead Astana’s duo, Fabio Aru and Mikel Landa, who rounded out the podium in 2nd and 3rd place. 

The Finale

Both Keisse and Durbridge managed to escape, as the peloton entered the final circuits in Milan.

From there, the two riders succeeded in building up a slight advantage over the peloton, as teams failed to organize and effective chase.

As the duo entered the final kilometer, Keisse forced Durbridge to take take up the pace setting at the front, by refusing to take the lead. 

Heading into the final 200 meters, Durbridge tried to coax Keisse to take the front, but with the peloton fast on their heels, the Orica-GreenEdge rider decided to accelerate first.

Unfortunately for the Australian rider, Keisse easily came around him well in advance of the finish – to seize the victory.

Top 10 Finishers

1 Iljo Keisse (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step 04:18:37
2 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica GreenEdge
3 Roger Kluge (Ger) IAM Cycling 0:00:09
4 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Team Katusha
5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing
6 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Giant-Alpecin
7 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky
8 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
9 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
10 Elia Favilli (Ita) Lampre-Merida

General Classification

1 Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 88:22:25
2 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:01:53
3 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Astana Pro Team 0:03:05
4 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 0:08:10
5 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:09:52
6 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky 0:10:53
7 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:11:21
8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:12:08
9 Alexandre Geniez (Fra) 0:15:41
10 Yuri Trofimov (Rus) Katusha 0:16:41

Leave a reply
Share on