- - GP de Denain Porte du Hainaut 2016

GP de Denain Porte du Hainaut 2016


Dan McLay (Fortuneo–Vital Concept) took a sensational win at the GP de Denain today, thanks to a well timed, late sprint that served to bring the curtains down on his closest rivals, Thomas Boudat (Direct Energie) and Kenny De Haes (Wanty – Groupe Gobert). 

“I stayed in position and then made a dash for it in the last twenty meters where I it gave everything. Of course I am happy to have won my first of the season and my first 1.HC in Europe. It feels good to open my account, I am a sprinter who loves classics and I hope to be as good in the next races.

The finale 

As the race was building up to a sprint finale, the familiar pattern of teams jockeying their respective sprinters into place, was in full effect. 

As the head of the peloton made its way into the final 100 meters, Boudat appeared to be poised for victory.  

However, with a final surge up through the ranks, McLay managed to overtake the group during the closing few meters, to deny Boudat the victory.

Top 20 Finishers

1 Daniel McLay (GBr) Fortuneo – Vital Concept 4:29:23
2 Thomas Boudat (Fra) Direct Energie
3 Kenny De Haes (Bel) Wanty – Groupe Gobert
4 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles – Group Protect
5 Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) FDJ
6 Clément Venturini (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
7 Pawel Franczak (Pol) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team
8 Chris Opie (GBr) ONE Pro Cycling
9 Bryan Alaphilippe (Fra) Armee de Terre
10 Loïc Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
11 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Roubaix Metropole Europeenne De Lille
12 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot – Oranje Peloton
13 Dion Smith (NZl) ONE Pro Cycling
14 Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
15 Eryk Laton (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
16 Liam Bertazzo (Ita) Southeast – Venezuela
17 Yannis Yssaad (Fra) Armee de Terre
18 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
19 Maxime Farazijn (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
20 Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La Mondiale


Leave a reply
Share on