- - Tour de France 2016 Stage 8

Tour de France 2016 Stage 8


photo credits @ Le Tour 

Chris Froome (Team Sky) finally rose to prominence in this year’s Tour de France, after the defending champion attacked following the summit of the Col de Peyresourde – subsequently distancing his rivals along the descent into Bagnères-de-Luchon to claim today’s stage 8.

The Finale

The main GC favourites were all together during today’s final climb, with no attacks able to stick on the way up the Peyresourde.

However, a determined Froome succeeded in riding clear just after the summit with a little over 15 kilometers remaining.

With only a 10 second advantage however, it appeared as though the chase being led by the Movistar duo of Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana, would catch the British rider.

But Froome took every chance he could along the descent, in an effort to keep his rivals at bay.

After reaching the bottom of the descent, Froome was still clinging to a 15 second gap, which prompted the Sky rider to reach even further into his reserves during the final run-in to the finish.

Meanwhile, Dan Martin (Etixx-Quick Step) crossed the finish in second place, while Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) followed in third.

The biggest GC casualty of the day was Alberto Contador (Tinkoff), who lost well over a minute after being dropped along the Peyresourde, and now looks to concede his team leadership to Roman Kreuziger.

Ealier Highlights

After 50 kilometers of racing, the trio of Tony Martin (Etixx-Quick Step), Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) and Rafal Majka (Tinkoff) managed to ride clear of the peloton along the climb of the Col de Tourmalet.

From there, the escapees succeeded in building up a two and a half minute over the chase.

However, their advantage began to diminish quickly over the next climb, and they were eventually reined along the slopes of the Col de Val Louron-Azet with a little more than 42 kilometers to go.

In the meantime, as many expected, race leader Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) suffered greatly during today’s climbs, ultimately conceding the yellow jersey to Froome, who now leads the race by 16 seconds over Adam Yates (Orica-BikeExchange), followed by Rodriguez with the same time.


Top 15 Stage Finishers

1 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 4:57:33
2 Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx – Quick-Step 0:00:13
3 Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha
4 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
5 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff Team
6 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team
7 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-BikeExchange
8 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
10 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team
11 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
12 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
13 Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre – Merida
14 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky
15 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:01:41

General classification after stage 8

1 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 39:13:04
2 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-BikeExchange 0:00:16
3 Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha
4 Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx – Quick-Step 0:00:17
5 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:19
6 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:23
7 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team
8 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
9 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
11 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky
12 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff Team 0:00:34
13 Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre – Merida
14 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin 0:01:51
15 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Cannondale-Drapac 0:01:55



Leave a reply
Share on