- - Tour de France 2017 Stage 19

Tour de France 2017 Stage 19

photo credits @ Le Tour/ASO

Edvald Boasson Hagen claimed stage 19 of the Tour de France today, after attacking out of a large breakaway group to seize a solo victory in the longest stage of this year’s race in Salon-de-Provence, comfortably crossing the finish 5 seconds ahead of his closest rivals Nikias Arndt (Sunweb) and Jens Keukeliere (Orica-Scott).

Meanwhile, race leader Chris Froome (Team Sky), along with the rest of the peloton, crossed the finish more than 10 minutes behind the lead trio. 

Boasson Hagen was part of a 20-rider breakaway group that succeeded in riding clear of the peloton during the first 2 kilometers.

From there, the group managed to remain out for the entire day.

However, just as the breakaway group looked poised for a sprint finale, Boasson Hagen and Arndt managed to open up a slight gap for themselves after choosing a better direction through the final roundabout with 2.8 kilometers to go.

Shortly thereafter, Boasson Hagen initiated his winning move that proved insurmountable for Arndt to close the gap on.  

“Inside the last 2 kilometers or so, I made a final attack and nobody could follow, so I am really happy I managed to win. I have been so close so many times, and now finally I got one”, said a jubilant Boasson Hagen after the stage. 

Froome remains 23 seconds ahead of Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) and 29 seconds in front of third-placed Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) in the overall classification. 

Stage 19 result

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Dimension Data
2. Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb, +5”
3. Jens Keukeleire (Bel) ORICA-SCOTT, +17”
4. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar Team, same time
5. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal, same time
6. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Direct Energie, same time
7. Elie Gesbert (Fra) Fortuneo Oscaro, same time
8. Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale, same time
9. Michael Albasini (Sui) ORICA-SCOTT, +19”
10. Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Fortuneo-Oscaro, +1’32”

General classification

1. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, 83h26’55”
2. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, +23”
3. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac, +29″
4. Mikel Landa (Esp) Team Sky, +1’36”
5. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +1’55″
6. Dan Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors, +2’56”
7. Simon Yates (GB) ORICA-SCOTT, +4’46”
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates, +6’52”
9. Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb, +8’22”
10. Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, +8’34”

Leave a reply
Share on