- - Tour de France 2022 Stage 19

Tour de France 2022 Stage 19

photo credits @ ASO

Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma) won stage 19 of the Tour de France today, continuing his team’s dominance in this year’s French Grand Tour after vanquishing his rivals in the final uphill sprint in Cohors, handing France its first stage victory.

Meanwhile, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) claimed second place, winning the sprint over Alberto Dainese (Team DSM).

Race Highlights

Nils Politt (BORA – hansgrohe), Mikkel Honoré (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Taco van der Hoorn (Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux), Quinn Simmons (Trek – Segafredo) and Matej Mohoric (Bahrain – Victorious) formed the day’s first breakaway group, escaping the peloton early-on in today’s 189 kilometer route from  Castelnau-Magnoac to Cahors, later building up a modest advantage of around two minutes.  

The race was neutralized once again due to a protest on the road, briefly slowing the quintet along the fields of southern France.

As the kilometers ticked-on, one-by-one the escapees were caught, leaving just Simmons out front alone until the American rider was eventually reined-in with 35 kilometers to go. 

It wasn’t long before a new breakaway effort got underway, this time with Alexis Gougeard, Jasper Stuyven and Fred Wright distancing the peloton. 

However, a high-speed chase effort led to Laporte bridging his way to the trio inside the final kilometer.

Heading into the last 500 meters, Wright was the first rider to launch his sprint. But, Laporte was quick to respond, surging past his rivals with tremendous firepower along the uphill finish to seize the stage victory in solo fashion. 

Meanwhile, Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) finished safely in the peloton to continue his grip on the yellow jersey, with a 3:21 margin over Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) with only two stages remaining.  

Leave a reply
Share on