- - Tour of Turkey 2016 Stage 5

Tour of Turkey 2016 Stage 5


Jakub Mareczko (Southeast) claimed stage 5 of the Tour of Turkey today, with a well-timed sprint that saw the Italian rider hold-off a challenge from Andre Greipel, to seize the stage hours.

Mareczko’s teammate Manuel Belletti took third place, putting two Southeast riders on the podium.

“We put a team on the front in the last couple of kilometers to control the break a bit. It was quite a tough final but we got a bit of a train going and I was able to pull it off and get the win,” Mareczko said.

Meanwhile, race leader Pello Bilbao (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) finished safely in the peloton to retain his grip on the overall lead, with a 5-second advantage over his teammate Jose Goncalves.

Race Highlights

The first breakaway attempt of the day got underway with Riccardo Stacchiotti (Nippo), Lucas Gaday (Roth), Raphael Hammerschmid (Hrinkow), Muhammet Atalay (Torku), Simone Pedretti (UniEuro), Riccardo Stacchiotti (Nippo), Michal Podlaski (Verva), Kaspars Sergis (Alpha Baltic), Peter Schulting Ting (Parkhotel), Ahmet Akdilek (Torku) and Enrico Salvador (Uniero), riding clear during the first few kilometers of today’s stage.

From there, the group went on to establish a maximum advantage of almost two and a half minutes over the peloton.

However, little-by-little, an alliance amongst the teams back in the peloton, eventually reeled the escapees in, with Schulting being the last rider to be reclaimed during there final 5 kilometers . 

A skirmish between teams to move their respective sprinters into position unfolded from there, with Southeast ultimately delivering Mareczko to victory.

Tomorrow, riders will face this year’s “Queen Stage”, which features a flat start before tackling an early Category 1 climb, followed by a tough summit finish in Elmali, that is often regarded as the Turkish Alpe d’huez.


Top 10 Finishers

1 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Southeast – Venezuela 3:11:46
2 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
3 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Southeast – Venezuela
4 Francisco Chamorro (Arg) Funvic Soul Cycles – Carrefour
5 Daniele Colli (Ita) Nippo – Vini Fantini
6 Christophe Laborie (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
7 Grzegorz Sepniak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
8 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
9 Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Roth
10 Vadim Galeyev (Kaz) Astana City

General Classification

1 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA



Leave a reply
Share on