- - Vuelta a España 2017 Stage 16

Vuelta a España 2017 Stage 16

photo credits @ La Vuelta

Chris Froome extended his overall lead in this year’s Vuelta a España, after winning today’s Individual Time Trial is dominant fashion.

The Team Sky rider stopped the clock at 47:00 during today’s 40.2 kilometer courde from Circuito de Navarra to Logroño, 29 seconds faster than his closest rival ilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb) and 57 seconds quicker than third-placed Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida).

Today’s results, saw Froome stretches his overall lead to 1:58 over Nibali in the overall classification, and 2:40 over Kelderman, who climbed one place on the day.

Other than Froome, the day’s big winner was Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo), who jumped from ninth overall to fifth by finishing fifth on the day, 59 seconds down on the winner. 

Going in the opposite direction, however, was Esteban Chaves (ORICA-SCOTT), who dropped from fifth to ninth after completing the course 4:01  down on Froome.

Froome, who led at both intermediate time checks, said,“it’s a big relief and obviously I’m super happy to be in this position. That’s an amazing feeling to extend my lead and to be in this position.”

Team Sky now have two riders in the top 10 overall, after Wout Poels (Team Sky) climbed to eighth place by finishing seventh on the day.

Stage 16 result

1. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, 47’00″
2. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb, +29”
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida, +57”
4. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha-Alpecin, +59”
5. Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, same time
6. Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Sunweb, +1’07”
7. Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky, +1’11”
8. Lennard Kamna (Ger) Team Sunweb, +1’30”
9. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors, +1’41”
10. Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team, +1’49”

General classification

1. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, 62’53”25”
2. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida, +1’58”
3. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb, +2’40”
4. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha-Alpecin, +3’07”
5. Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, +4’58”
6. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team, +5’25″
7. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team, +6’27”
8. Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky, +6’33”
9. Esteban Chaves (Col) ORICA-SCOTT, +6’40”
10. Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac, +7’06”

Leave a reply
Share on