- - Vuelta a España 2017 Stage 8

Vuelta a España 2017 Stage 8

photo credits @ La Vuelta

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) sprinted to victory on Stage 8 of the Vuelta a España as Chris Froome dropped all of his closest rivals to extend his overall lead.

Alaphilippe formed part of the day’s 21-man escape and went on to beat Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) into second place and Rafal Majka (BORA-hansgrohe) into third after the trio had distanced their companions on the day’s steep final climb, the Alto Xorret de Catí.

Froome attacked close to the summit of the 5 kilometer-long ascent, which hit a maximum gradient of 18 per cent, and only Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) could follow.

The duo finished 1:27 down on Alaphillipe but 17 seconds ahead of a group of contenders containing the likes of Esteban Chaves (ORICA-SCOTT), Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida) and Fabio Aru (Astana Pro Team).

The result means Froome stretches his lead to 28 seconds over second-placed Chaves and 41 seconds over third-placed Nicolas Roche (BMC Racing Team).

“It’s incredible. I didn’t expect that I would win the stage today,” Alaphilippe said after the stage. “For me, it was a little bit complicated, since two or three stages ago I felt not so good. But I think for everybody it’s the same. We did a good start with the team, from the beginning of the race we were always in the front, and today, I was thinking maybe tomorrow was a good final for me, but today a big group took the lead after 40 kilometers. I decided with Matteo Trentin, he put me in the front.”

Stage 8 Results 

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors, 4h37’55”
2. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates, +2”
3. Rafal Majka (Pol) BORA-hansgrohe, same time
4. Serge Pauwels (Bel) Dimension Data, +26”
5. Nelson Oliveira (Por) Movistar Team, +28”
6. Michel Kreder (Ned) Aqua Blue Sport, +32”
7. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Soudal, same time
8. Bart De Clerq (Bel) Lotto Soudal, +34”
9. Alberto Losada (Esp) Team Katusha-Alpecin, +37”
10. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) BORA-hansgrohe, +1’04”

General Classification

1. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, 32h26’13”
2. Esteban Chaves (Col) ORICA-SCOTT, +28”
3. Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team, +41”
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida, +53”
5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team, +58”
6. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team, +1’06”
7. David de la Cruz (Esp) Quick-Step Floors, +1’08”
8. Adam Yates (GB) ORICA-SCOTT, +1’18”
9. Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac, +1’41”
10. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha-Alpecin, +1’57”

Leave a reply
Share on