- - Women's Tour de Yorkshire 2016

Women’s Tour de Yorkshire 2016


photo credits @ Tour de Yorkshire

Kirsten Wild claimed today’s Women’s Tour de Yorkshire, after outsprinting British rider Lucy Garner to win the inaugural edition of the women’s race. 

Today’s 135.5 kilometer race from Otley to Doncaster, ended in a bunch finish after a three-rider attack led by world champion Lizzie Armitstead was caught inside the final 3 kilometers. 

Armitstead had escaped from the peloton alongside Leah Kirchmann (Liv-Plantur) with about 35 kilometers to go and they subsequently joined up with Doris Schweizer (Cyclance), who had mounted a lone breakaway earlier in the race.

Despite the trio building up a modest advantage, the peloton ultimately chased them down to set up the bunch finish.

Armitstead said: “I kind of got involved in the attack by accident, around Conisbrough Castle. I knew I had to keep it going down the descent, there was a little bit of a kicker. I thought I’ll stick it here and see what happens. Then I looked behind me and there was two of us, so it wasn’t exactly planned.

“It was worth just giving it a go. I wouldn’t have bet on me in the sprint, so I thought at least try to make it an interesting race.

“When I saw the lead go from a minute to 30 seconds quickly, that’s when I knew the race was run. It was windy too, on those open roads we knew they were bearing down on us.”

Wild received £15,000 for her victory, which is more than will be awarded to the winner of the men’s race.

She said: “Thank you to the team for bringing back the break just in time. When it came down to the sprint, it was good for me, and I am happy to have won.

“It was a great opportunity for women’s cycling and it has been really good to race here, in front of enthusiastic crowds.”


Top 10 Finishers 

1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Hitec Products, 3:22:26

2 Lucy Garner (GB) Wiggle-High5, same time

3 Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Liv-Plantur, st

4 Alice Barnes (GB) Great Britain, st

5 Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Ale Cipollini, st

6 Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale Cipollini, st

7 Jennifer George (GB) Drops Cycling Team, st

8 Nicola Juniper (GB) Team Ford Ecoboost, st

9 Nicole Moerig (Aus) Podium Ambition, st

10 Evie Richards (GB) Great Britain, st


Leave a reply
Share on