- - Tour of China 2014 Stage 1

Tour of China 2014 Stage 1

Tour of China I kicks off in Xi’an! -Bernas BDC Marcpol takes opening stage in rain.

Summary from Tour of

The openning stage of 2014 Tour of China I sets off in the city of Xi’an on the flat field around the city’s aerospace base for a total of 9 laps (10.4km each), 93.6km, with 3 match sprints and a

catagory 4 climb at 66.2km. 

The stage started at 9h30 sharp, with heavy rain all the way at Xi’an Aerospace city. Soon as the game was on there were several attacks at the front of the peloton, but none of those were sucessful. The rain started to get heavier as the race goes on ! 

The first points classification were won by Irish rider Matthew Martin Brammeier (Baku Cycling Project) at 31.2km. 

After 4 laps, a break of 7 is formed, they were: 151 WANG Meiyin (Hengxiang Cycling Team), 153 ZHAO Jingbiao (Hengxiang Cycling Team), 123 BRAMMEIER Matthew Martin (Synergy Baku Cycling Project), 45 POLIVODA Oleksandr (KOLSS Cycling Team), 63 JANIACZYK BŁaŻej (BDC Marcpol), 71 RAGONESSI GUZMAN Jose Carlos (Team Encudor), and 86 AASVOLD Kristian (Team Sparebanken Sor). 

The leading group widened the gap as the game continues. Meiyin Wang (Hengxiang CyclingTeam) who took maximum points at both Sprint 2 and the Category 4 climb is definitely the most impressive Chinese rider for the day.

After the climb, the break of seven splited into two groups. Polivoda and Bernas made their way out and cooperated together till the finish. 

Riders continued the attack after the peloton caught the rest five. Heavier rain certainly brought about more incidents and split the main group. Riders crash frequently on the corner since the floor is so soaked with water and some of the riders crashed were left behind since. Riders at the front of the peloton speeded up for a favorable sprint position in the last lap.

Finally PaweL Piotr Bernas (BDC Marcpol) in the breakaway went full gas 400 meters before the finish and won the stage, followed by Oleksandr Polivoda (KOLSS Cycling Team) and Neil Anthony Van Der Ploeg (Avanti Racing Team). After the first stage, Bernas took the yellow and also the blue jersey, while Chinese rider Meiyin Wang wears the polka dot jersey as KoM and white jersey which is given to the best great china rider.


1. BERNAS PaweŁ Piotr (BDC)

2. POLIVODA Oleksandr (KLS)


Wear of Jerseys:

Yellow Jersey (GC Leader): BERNAS PaweŁ Piotr (BDC)

Blue Jersey (Best Sprinter): BERNAS PaweŁ Piotr (BDC)

Polka dot Jersey (King of the Mountains): WANG Meiyin (HEN)

White Jersey (Best Greater China rider): WANG Meiyin (HEN)

Leave a reply
Share on