- - Tour de France 2017 Stage 12

Tour de France 2017 Stage 12

Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) claimed a dramatic victory during today’s stage 12 of the Tour de France, after beating Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) and Fabio Aru (Astana) atop the summit Finnish of Peyragudes.

As a result of his second place finish, Aru wrested the yellow jersey from the shoulders of Chris Froome (Sky), who unexpectedly faltered during  the steep closing meters of the climb. 

Race Highlights

Today’s challenging stage included no fewer than six categorized climbs, including the hors-catégorie Port de Balès, along wet conditions, making it one of the toughest stages of this year’s race. 

Steve Cummings made a daring solo attack that looked as though it might earn the Team Dimension Data rider the stage victory, but the British rider ran out of steam along the penultimate climb of the Col de Peyresourde. 

With 35 kilometers to go, Cummings had counter-attacked Thomas de Gendt’s move on the Port de Balès, later opening up a gap of two minutes over the chase. 

However, Cummings was later caught with just under 9 kilometers to go, with Team Sky amassing at the front to protect its leader, Froome.

With Mikel Nieve and Mikel Landa by his side, it appeared like Chris Froome was set to tighten his grip on the maillot jaune.

However, with 300 meters to go, Aru attacked with Uran and Bardet quickly marking his move. But, Froome instantly appeared to be in trouble, swerving side to side across the steep final section, while his rivals powered away.

During the final hundred meters Aru was overhauled first by Bardet and then by Uran, while Froome fought to the line to limit his losses.

Stage 12 result

1. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, 5h49’38”
2. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac, +2”
3. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, same time
4. Mikel Landa (Esp) Team Sky, +5”
5. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates, +7”
6. Dan Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors, +13”
7. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, +22”
8. George Bennett (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, +27”
9. Simon Yates (GB) ORICA-SCOTT, same time
10. Mikel Nieve (Esp) Team Sky, 1’28”

GC after Stage 12

1. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, 52h51’49”
2. Chris Froome (GB) Team Sky, +6”
3. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, +25”
4. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac, +35”
5. Dan Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors, +1’41”
6. Simon Yates (GB) ORICA-SCOTT, +2’13”
7. Mikel Landa (Esp) Team Sky, +2’55”
8. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team, +4’01”
9. George Bennett (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, +4’04”
10. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates, +4’51”

Leave a reply
Share on