- - Giro Rosa 2014 Stage 6

Giro Rosa 2014 Stage 6

Emma Pooley won stage 6 of this year’s Giro Rosa today, after a successful late attack on the final climb of the day, the Salita die Carbonai, that gave the British rider an enough of a gap to hold off her rivals during the long descent to San Fior – to claim a solo victory.  

Meanwhile, Marianne Vos retained her hold on the overall race lead, with a 45 second advantage over her teammate – Pauline Ferrand-Prévot. 

“I am really quite emotional,” Pooley told the media. “It was such an incredibly hard day. I feel so happy. It was a really good day.”

“The Lotto-Belisol team did a brilliant job to position me at that the foot of the climb. It was like a Mur de Huy type climb. I don’t think Rabo-Liv expected this. I think they expected us to wait until the longer climb. The team really did a brilliant job.”

“I didn’t expect them to chase me down so hard. I am no threat in the GC.”  “But the gap went down from two minutes to a few seconds. I really thought I wouldn’t make it. When you see the finish picture they really came close. This is all very emotional.”

Stage 6 Results 

1.   Emma Pooley (GBr) Lotto-Belisol, 3:05:46
2.   Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabobank-Liv, + 00:15
3.   Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo-Liv, s.t.
4.   Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (Fra) Rabobank-Liv, s.t.
5.   Claudia Lichtenberg Häusler (Ger) Liv-Shimano, s.t.
6.   Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitc Products, s.t.
7.   Mara Abbott (USA) UnitedHealthcare, s.t.
8.   Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabobnk-Liv, + 01:06
9.   Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Rabo-Liv, + 04:19
10. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Hitec Products, s.t.

General Classification After Stage 6 

1.   Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-Liv, 18:03:19
2.   Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (Fra) Rabobank-Liv, + 00:45
3.   Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products, + 00:53
4.   Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabobank-Liv, + 02:12
5.   Claudia Häusler (Ger) Liv-Shimano, + 02:58
6.   Mara Abbott (USA) UnitedHealthcare, + 04:41
7.   Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabobnk-Liv, + 06:09
8.   Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Rabo-Liv, + 06:18
9.   Emma Johansson (Swe) ORICA-AIS, s.t.
10. Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels-Dolmans, + 06:26


Leave a reply
Share on