- - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Stage 5

Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Stage 5

photo credits @ ASO

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) made it back-to-back victories in the Critérium du Dauphiné today, after the Belgian rider emerged victorious from a chaotic bunch sprint in Voiron to beat Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and seize the stage honors.

Meanwhile, Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) finished safely in the peloton to retain his grip on the yellow jersey, leading Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida) by four-seconds in the overall classification. 

Race Highlights 

Yoann Bagot (Vital Concept), Stephane Rossetto (Cofidis) and Alessandro De Marchi (CCC) formed the day’s first breakaway effort, after the trio escaped the peloton during the first 10 kilometers. 

From there, the escapees went on to establish an advantage of more than three minutes over the peloton.

However, after a long day out front, their time in the limelight was eventually brought to a close during the final 2 kilometers, with De Marchi being the last to get reeled in just before the Flamme Rouge.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) and Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) decided to attack during the last kilometer. But, the duo’s aggressions were quickly neutralized. 

Van Aert seized upon the hesitation of the peloton, hitting the front with a powerful acceleration that proved unassailable by his rivals.

Leave a reply
Share on