- - La Drôme Classic 2015

La Drôme Classic 2015

photo credits @ AG2R La Mondiale 

Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R La Mondiale) won this year’s Drome Classic, after initiating a final attack, that gave the French rider enough of a gap to beat Fabio Felline (Trek Factory Racing) and Sébastien Delfosse (Wallonia-Brussels) by just a few seconds.

Race Highlights

Today’s 200 kilometer race, saw a small breakaway group containing Danny Summerhill (UnitedHealthcare), Grégoire Tarride (Team Marseille 13 KTM), Axel Domont (AG2R) and Bert-Jan Lindeman (Lotto NL-Jumbo), get underway early on in the race.

From there, the quartet steadily build up a sizable advantage of four minutes over the peloton.

However, once the escapees were reeled in, last year’s winner, Romain Bardet (AG2R), along with Trek Racing’s Bauke Mollema and Riccardo Zoidl, emerged from the peloton to enjoy a lead of their own, last lasted until the final 15 kilometers.

At that point, Bardet decided to have another go of it alone. However, the French rider was quickly joined by Peter Stetina (BMC Racing Team), Cyril Gautier (Europcar), Yann Guyot (Equipe Cycliste de l’Armee de Terre) and Mollema once again.

From there, it appeared as though the race would come down to a battle amongst those five riders. However, Dumoulin made a bold move during the final climb to catch and pass his rivals during the final few hundred meters – to seize the victory.

Top 10 Finishers 

1 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
2 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing
3 Sebastian Delfosse (Bel) Wallonie – Bruxelles
4 Cyril Guatier (Fra) Team Europcar
5 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team
6 Rudy Molard (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
7 Yann Guyot (Fra) Armeé de Terre
8 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
9 Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement
10 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step

Leave a reply
Share on